Ghana’s Ayew and Atsu nominated for Fifa Ballon d’or

andre ayew

According to reports in Spain, Ayew is named alongside Wales and and Real Madrid star Gareth Bale in the initial list of contenders

Blackstars midfielder’s Christian Atsu and Andre Ayew has been named as nominees for 2015 Fifa’s Ballon D’Or – according to reports.

The players were named on a 59 long-list published by several Spanish media outlets with Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo again tipped to go head-to-head with Barcelona rival Lionel Messi.

The presence of a Swansea player will shock the world after Ayew was nominated for his performances for Ghana and former club Marseille.

Ayew, 25, arrived at the Liberty this summer on a Bosman free with his nomination underlining the transfer coup pulled off by Swans boss Garry Monk.

And the African ace has wasted little time in showing his class in the Premier League, grabbing three goals and one assist as part of early season success in South Wales.

Ayew won Player of the Month in August

Harry Kane, who will line up against Ayew in Sunday’s clash between Swansea and Spurs at the Liberty, is one of two English players on the list along with Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney.

Real Madrid and Barcelona, with seven players a-piece, dominate the 59 man pre-candidate list for the 2015 Ballon D’Or award.

Apart from current holder, Cristino Ronaldo, Real Madrid representatives are: Karim Benzema, Gareth Bale, Sergio Ramos, Modric, James and Toni Kroos.

Barcelona’s list includes, Messi, aiming to secure his fifth award and is augmented by: Caludio Bravo, Mascherano, Iniesta, Rakitic, Neymar and Luis Suárez.

FIFA 2015 Ballon D’Or Pre-Candidate List:

Argentina: Aguero (City), Mascherano (Barcelona), Messi (Barcelona), Otamendi (Valencia-City), Pastore (PSG), Tevez (Juve-Boca)

Australia: Luongo (QPR)

Austria: Alaba (Bayern)

Belgium: Courtois (Chelsea), De Bruyne (Wolfsburg-Man. City), Hazard (Chelsea)

Brazil: Coutinho (Liverpool), Neymar (Barcelona), Willian (Chelsea)

Chile: Bravo (Barcelona), Medel (Inter), Sanchez (Arsenal), Vargas (QPR-Hoffenheim), Vidal(Juve-Bayern

Colombia: Bacca (Sevilla-Milan), Jackson Martinez (Porto-Atletico Madrid), Ospina (Arsenal),James Rodriguez (Real Madrid)

Croatia: Modric (Real Madrid), Rakitic (Barcelona)

England: Kane (Spurs), Rooney (Man Utd.)

France: Benzema (Real Madrid), Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Lacazette (Lyon), Pogba (Juve)

Germany: Kroos (Bayern), Muller (Bayern), Neuer (Bayern)

Ghana: Atsu (Everton-Bournemouth), Ayew (Marseile-Swansea)

Italy: Chiellini (Juve), Pirlo (Juve-NYCFC)

Ivory Coast: Bony (Swansea-Man City), Touré (Man City)

Japan: Ozakazi (Leicester City)

Mexico: Dos Santos (Villarreal-LA Galaxy), Guardado (PSV)

Netherlands: Depay (PSV-Man. United), Robben (Bayern)

Peru: Guerrero (Corinthians-Flamengo)

Poland: Lewandowski (Bayern)

Portugal: Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

South Korea: Son (Leverkusen-Spurs)

Spain: Costa (Chelsea), De Gea (Man. Utd.), Iniesta (Barcelona), Morata (Juve), Sergio Ramos(Real Madrid)

Sweden: Ibrahimovic (PSG)

Uruguay: Cavani (PSG), Sanchez (River Plate), Suarez (Barcelona)

Wales: Bale (Real Madrid)